Skip to content

Video Project: Documentation:

February 26, 2013

For this video project I was inspired by The Journey. Specifically the journey that people take within their everyday life, and the interaction between the driver and the road and the camera. I filmed specifically vertically on my iPhone because of the cropping that occurs. I was then able to multiply and overlay it and have 3 videos playing at the same time. The interaction or participation occurred with the driver of the vehicle. The video depended on how/where the driver drove. I filmed from 3 perspectives, car, streetcar and bus. I did this purposely to stick with he 3 overlays I did. As I have a windows computer at home I did not use iMovie to edit. I have this program called Corel VideoStudio Pro. Its not the greatest, but its better than windows movie maker  its very similar to iMovie. The hardest thing for me was the rendering time. Since I shot mini clips that were 2-6 mins long rendering took a while. I then cropped them as there was some not needed footage.  In the program i used it can only have 1 overlay track, yet i wanted 2. I had to add my original, add the overlay track, then export/save. Which alone to render that took about 40 mins, for a 2 min video. I then put it back into Studio Pro, to add the 3rd overlay track, add my music, and export again, which that rendering time took almost an hr. I also had many problems with the crappy software crashing. It crashed 4 times in which i never got the chance to save. But its all i had to work with so i dealt with it.  The music that I chose to include was “Peaches” by New Heights. I felt this song went well with the tempo of the video, and had this journey feeling to it. The reason i did the overlaying tracks is i felt it gave more of an illusion, and gets you sucked into the video and that you feel you are on that journey as well. I also sped the video to 4x the normal speed, for two reasons, mainly to shorten the length/fit more in, and second to show the passing of time, taking a long  journey and shortening it into just 2 mins. I just feel it is a better choice for presenting. One of the main parts of my day is the traveling it takes me to get to school. On a good day it takes about 45 mins, as i am traveling from Scarborough to downtown Toronto  i have to take a bus then subway. So for almost 2 hrs (there and back) of my day are spent traveling just to and from school. Then there is at home and weekend stuff in which i am always driving around going to places. Traveling and journeys are a big part of our lives. Overall i wanted to show interaction between the driver and the environment and depending on where/how you drive will depend on the environment that is produced.

Video:

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

